Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
November 25, 2017, 04:49:46 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: If you are still using YaBB SE, please consider upgrading to SMF as soon as possible.

YaBB SE Community  |  YaBB SE Info  |  News From the YaBB SE Team  |  Topic: YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released! « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7 Reply Ignore Print
Author Topic: YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!  (Read 111833 times)
tom4stir
Noobie
*
Posts: 35


I'm a llama!


Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2004, 06:30:03 PM »
Reply with quote

Is there any writeup explaing how to upgrade for people that have never done it before?

* tom4stir is paranoid of messing up his forum, even with backups.
Logged
Patzt
Noobie
*
Posts: 33


I use a Nikon Coolpix 950 digital camera


Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2004, 07:53:29 PM »
Reply with quote

Tom4stir, I'm with you for sure!  I haven't the foggiest idea how to make these changes.  I'm still using 1.5.1 and so scared that I'll lose stuff and I have lots that I don't want to lose.

Logged

Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD.
Psalm 150:6

Ben_S
Disciple of Joe
Support Team
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 1586


I Love YaBB SE!


WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2004, 07:54:43 PM »
Reply with quote

Andrea has a tutorial here http://www.penthesilea.ch/yabbutils/save-instr/ with details of how to back up your database, though this patch doesn't require any db modifications (I dont think anyway, I havent actually looked at it) so it should be very low risk.

 do back up though, you should always back up just in case your host messes up or something like that.
Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2004, 08:09:41 PM »
Reply with quote

You can apply the patch with the package manager.  Here's how:

First, go into your admin center.  Now click "YaBBpak Center" under "Forum Controls".  Choose "[ Download new YaBBpaks ]".

If you see "yabbse.org Bugs" in the list, click on "[ Browse ]" next to it.  Otherwise, type "yabbse.org Bugs" in for the server name, and "http://www.yabbse.org/packages/bugs" for the URL. (no slash at the end!)  Now, click on "[ Browse ]" next to it

You should see a list of fixes.  Find the section for the version you currently have installed, and pick the mod titled "YaBB SE YOUR VERSION to YaBB SE 1.5.5 Update" and click "[ Download ]".

Now click "[ Back ]" and then "[ Back ]".  Now click "[ Browse YaBBpaks ]".

Find the mod you downloaded in the list. (it might be the only thing in there...)  Click the "[ Apply Mod ]" next to it.

Click "[ Proceed ]".  Then, "[ Test (recommended) ]".

For every file listed in large print, find it in your FTP.  Make sure it is, TEMPORARILY chmod'd to 777.  This makes it so the package manager can update them.  You will also need to make the folders they are in 777 so it can make backups.

If you don't get any "not found" errors, it should install properly.  Click "[ Apply Mod ]".  If you get any errors, you probably forgot to chmod something to 777.

Afterward, you may wish to chmod things back to 755.  You can read my opinion on this subject here:
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=2987.0

-[Unknown]
« Last Edit: January 17, 2004, 08:10:26 PM by [Unknown] » Logged
Patzt
Noobie
*
Posts: 33


I use a Nikon Coolpix 950 digital camera


Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2004, 08:11:23 PM »
Reply with quote

Thanks Ben and Unknown...

I'm going to print out yours, Unknown, and read the tutorial.  This Grandma is paranoid!  And you guys sure know a lot more than I do.

Pat
Logged

Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD.
Psalm 150:6

proenski
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 60



Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #20 on: January 17, 2004, 08:55:55 PM »
Reply with quote

I'm confused ???

I thought version 1.5.4 was going to be the final one and that YABB SE was going to change his name??

Please enlighten me...
Logged

David
Destroyer Dave
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 5761


I'm not a llama!


WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2004, 08:59:33 PM »
Reply with quote

I'm confused ???

I thought version 1.5.4 was going to be the final one and that YABB SE was going to change his name??

Please enlighten me...
This was true although the security vulnerability that was reported yesterday warrented another release.
Logged

NJBassOnline.com
Noobie
*
Posts: 28



WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2004, 09:01:15 PM »
Reply with quote

Hi - according to changelog, only these files are changed:

- Sources/Display.php
 - Sources/Load.php
 - Sources/Profile.php
 - Sources/RemoveThread.php
 - Sources/Subs.php
 - index.php
 - SSI.php
 - ssi_examples.php
 - ssi_examples.shtml

So, does that mean that I can just replace and overwrite those files manually and not worry about all the other files?

Thanks
Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2004, 09:07:28 PM »
Reply with quote

Those are the only files included in yabbse_1-5-5_update.zip, and yes you can.

-[Unknown]
Logged
David
Destroyer Dave
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 5761


I'm not a llama!


WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #24 on: January 17, 2004, 09:07:33 PM »
Reply with quote

That is what the update package should do for you, assuming you are coming from 1.5.4.
Logged

Spaceman-Spiff
Mod Team
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 3689


My $txt[228]


Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #25 on: January 17, 2004, 09:07:34 PM »
Reply with quote

patched 9 forums
phew :P

Quote
So, does that mean that I can just replace and overwrite those files manually and not worry about all the other files?
if you didnt install any mods, go ahead and do that
Logged

   My mods, ysePak, codes, tutorials
    Support question IMs = bad.
Adariel
Noobie
*
Posts: 3


I'm a llama!


Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2004, 01:35:46 AM »
Reply with quote

I got 4 "string not found" errors ...

Profile.php
Code: [Select]
<form onsubmit="if (document.creator.oldpasswrd.value == \'\') { alert(\'' . $txt['yse244'] . '\'); return false; }" action="' . $scripturl . '?action=profile2" method="post" name="creator">

Subs.php
Code: [Select]
function sendmail($to, $subject, $message, $from = null)
{
   global $mailtype, $webmaster_email, $modSettings;

   $chunkSize = 50;

   $to_array = (is_array($to) ? $to : array($to));

   if ($from == null)
      $from = $webmaster_email;
   $subject = stripslashes($subject);
   $subject = str_replace(array('"', ''', '&', '<', '>'), array('"', '\'', '&', '<', '>'), $subject);
   $message = stripslashes($message);
   $headers = "MIME-Version: 1.0\r\n";
   $headers .= "From: <$webmaster_email>\r\n";
   $headers .= "Return-Path: $webmaster_email";

   if ($modSettings['mail_type'] == 'sendmail')
      foreach ($to_array as $to)
         $mail_result = mail($to, $subject, $message, $headers);
   else
      smtp_mail($to_array, $subject, $message, $headers);

   return $mail_result;
}

function smtp_mail($mail_to_array, $subject, $message, $headers)
{
   global $modSettings, $webmaster_email;

   if (!$socket = fsockopen($modSettings['smtp_host'], 25, $errno, $errstr, 20))
      fatal_error("Could not connect to smtp host : $errno : $errstr");

   server_parse($socket, '220');

   if ($modSettings['smtp_username'] != '' && $modSettings['smtp_password'] != '')
   {
      fputs($socket, "EHLO $modSettings[smtp_host]\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '250');
      fputs($socket, "AUTH LOGIN\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '334');
      fputs($socket, base64_encode($modSettings['smtp_username']) . "\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '334');
      fputs($socket, base64_encode($modSettings['smtp_password']) . "\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '235');
   }
   else
   {
      fputs($socket, 'HELO ' . $modSettings['smtp_host'] . "\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '250');
   }
   foreach($mail_to_array as $mail_to)
   {
      fputs($socket, "MAIL FROM: <$webmaster_email>\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '250');
      $to_header = "To: <$mail_to>";
      fputs($socket, "RCPT TO: <$mail_to>\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '250');
      fputs($socket, "DATA\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '354');
      fputs($socket, "Subject: $subject\r\n");
      if (strlen($mail_to))
         fputs($socket, "$to_header\r\n");
      fputs($socket, "$headers\r\n\r\n");
      fputs($socket, "$message\r\n");
      fputs($socket, ".\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '250');
      fputs($socket, "RSET\r\n");
      server_parse($socket, '250');
   }
   fputs($socket, "QUIT\r\n");
   fclose($socket);
}

function server_parse($socket, $response)
{
   while (substr($server_response, 3, 1) != ' ')
      if (!($server_response = fgets($socket, 256)))
         fatal_error('Couldn\'t get mail server response codes');

   if (!(substr($server_response, 0, 3) == $response))
      fatal_error("Ran into problems sending Mail. Error: $server_response");
}

SSI.php
Code: [Select]
function topTopicsViews()
{
   global $db_prefix, $txt, $scripturl, $num_topicsViews, $cgi;

   ob_end_clean();
   $request = mysql_query("
and

Code: [Select]
function topTopicsReplies()
{
   global $db_prefix, $txt, $scripturl, $num_topicsReplies, $cgi;
   
   ob_end_clean();
   $request = mysql_query("

Can ya tell me how important these particular ones are and what I should do about them?  This was on a "test install" so there's no harm done but I would like to get the security updated.
Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2004, 02:25:47 AM »
Reply with quote

You would get those errors if you were using the supermod.

You can ignore the missing strings and just apply the other changes.

-[Unknown]
Logged
pboehi
Noobie
*
Posts: 11


I'm a llama!


Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #28 on: January 18, 2004, 02:39:34 AM »
Reply with quote

I just wanted to let you know that after having reported 2 "string not found" messages the script apparently has been fixed. I re-downloaded it and was able to update my forum without any problems.

Peter
« Last Edit: January 18, 2004, 02:55:20 AM by pboehi » Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released!
« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2004, 02:42:40 AM »
Reply with quote

That's right, I fixed my typo:

I fixed the problem with Load.php, I'll double check the other problem.

-[Unknown]

-[Unknown]
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7 Reply Ignore Print 
YaBB SE Community  |  YaBB SE Info  |  News From the YaBB SE Team  |  Topic: YaBB SE 1.5.5 Released! « previous next »
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP YaBB SE Community | Powered by YaBB SE
2001-2003, YaBB SE Dev Team. All Rights Reserved.
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.113 seconds with 19 queries.