Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
November 24, 2017, 03:31:09 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: If you are still using YaBB SE, please consider upgrading to SMF as soon as possible.

YaBB SE Community  |  English User Help  |  English Help  |  Topic: Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk « previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 Reply Ignore Print
Author Topic: Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk  (Read 66276 times)
oldiesmann
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 577


Jesus died for your sins... Have you thanked him?


WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #30 on: March 06, 2003, 02:13:07 PM »
Reply with quote

Ok. I figured out how to do it manually. For some reason, it was using Notepad to search the document and not Wordpad, so I did a manual install and went in and made the changes with wordpad. I'm gonna upload the modified files and see if they work.
Logged

"I've sinned greatly, but Christ's for real, baby
It's a wonder He saved me and just didn't hate me
So won't you tell Him "Save me"
Please stand up, please stand up, please stand up..." - J. Jackson (More Info)
oldiesmann
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 577


Jesus died for your sins... Have you thanked him?


WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #31 on: March 06, 2003, 02:30:14 PM »
Reply with quote

Yipppeeeeeee!!!!!!!! :-D
Logged

"I've sinned greatly, but Christ's for real, baby
It's a wonder He saved me and just didn't hate me
So won't you tell Him "Save me"
Please stand up, please stand up, please stand up..." - J. Jackson (More Info)
smiler
Noobie
*
Posts: 13


I'm a llama!


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #32 on: March 06, 2003, 06:24:40 PM »
Reply with quote

oldiesman,

are u having a problem with getting attachments to work. i haven't figured that one out yet.....!

smiler
Logged
oldiesmann
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 577


Jesus died for your sins... Have you thanked him?


WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #33 on: March 06, 2003, 06:45:41 PM »
Reply with quote

I haven't actually tried anything with attachments yet as I'm still setting up my board and installing mods and stuff. I'll try posting an attachment soon and let you know what happens. The only other thing is in the admin section it says that I am unable to connect to YaBB's xml file and when I click on the link to view the news or whatever, I get a javascript error.
Logged

"I've sinned greatly, but Christ's for real, baby
It's a wonder He saved me and just didn't hate me
So won't you tell Him "Save me"
Please stand up, please stand up, please stand up..." - J. Jackson (More Info)
smiler
Noobie
*
Posts: 13


I'm a llama!


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #34 on: March 09, 2003, 07:43:49 AM »
Reply with quote

Well I've searched the forum for any and all problems associated with using lycos as a free host for a yabbse forum. The general comment is 'don't use lycos because there are too many problems/restrictions with the php4u environment imposed by lycos'.

Well....I'm not giving up that easily...!

I have my yabbse board up and running and there are still one or two problems. My main concern at the moment is getting attachments to work.

I get the following error message.

2: chmod() has been disabled for security reasons
(/data/members/free/tripod/uk/s/p/r/******/htdocs/forum/Sources/Post.php ln 888)

The ****** is my domain name.

The file actually uploads and is stored in the attachments directory. Since it is possible to attach http based images to a post then it must be possible to attach any images stored in the attachments directory. I'm not sure what the implications might be for attaching other file types, e.g. excel file.

Has anyone resolved the lycos attachment problem

regards, smiler
 
Logged
smiler
Noobie
*
Posts: 13


I'm a llama!


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #35 on: March 09, 2003, 09:16:18 AM »
Reply with quote

Well......I have managed to attach image files to my posts  :)......I haven't experimented with other file types as of yet.

I commented out the chmod line in post.php line 888.

In My 'Installed Mods Settings and Options'

Attachments Upload Path set to - attachments
Attachments URL set to - http://members.lycos.co.uk/*****/yabbse/attachments

******is your lycos domain name or root directory name.

regards, smiler

Edit:........other attachments work as well......I've cracked it............. :)



 
« Last Edit: March 09, 2003, 09:32:11 AM by smiler » Logged
king_killa
Full Member
***
Posts: 132


king killa big wheela cat peela


WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #36 on: March 09, 2003, 07:49:27 PM »
Reply with quote

THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU!!!!  ;D

thanyou for that information on how to get the redirecting to work  :D

I'm soooo happy!  ;D
 Thankyou
Logged

oldiesmann
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 577


Jesus died for your sins... Have you thanked him?


WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #37 on: March 10, 2003, 10:07:40 AM »
Reply with quote

I gave up on Lycos.co.uk after their MySQL server quit working properly. I now have my own domain name (oldiesmann.us - $17.50 for 2 years at cheap-domainregistration.com and $4.75/month hosting at emarkhosting.com). I got the board installed, but now I'm getting errors about "headers already sent". I don't know why though.
Logged

"I've sinned greatly, but Christ's for real, baby
It's a wonder He saved me and just didn't hate me
So won't you tell Him "Save me"
Please stand up, please stand up, please stand up..." - J. Jackson (More Info)
smiler
Noobie
*
Posts: 13


I'm a llama!


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #38 on: March 11, 2003, 01:36:26 PM »
Reply with quote

Well I thought I had sorted my attachments problem but I have come up against another problem.

I have the attachments enabled in 'Installed Mods Settings and Options', however, members are still not able to make attachments as the facility does not appear in their browser. When I examine 'Restrict attachments to member groups' setting, I find the only member group included is 'Administrator'. Clicking on the blue icon next to this setting opens a small window containing a list of membergroups to be selected to be included in the enable attachments feature. My list only contains 'Administrator' and 'Global moderator', so these are the only two groups I am able to include for using the attachments feature.

I have tried typing in the other member group names in the setting box but this has made no difference and the feature is still unavailable to 'Newbie' members (my only group at the moment).

I've looked at 'Edit member groups' but I don't believe this is the answer to my problem.

Why do I only have 2 groups included in the above discussed feature.......is this a bug with 1.5.1RC1B44?

regards, smiler
Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #39 on: March 11, 2003, 06:01:55 PM »
Reply with quote

Empty the box to allow all members.  (try clicking those [?] buttons ;).)

-[Unknown]
Logged
smiler
Noobie
*
Posts: 13


I'm a llama!


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #40 on: March 12, 2003, 02:40:45 AM »
Reply with quote

Thanks for that [Unknown],

I mi-read the setting title as the opposite of it's intention......

'Restrict attachments to member groups'

I read this as 'restrict the attachment function to allow the following member groups only to use it'.

Apologies for wasting your time on such a trivial matter. The written word can easily be mis-interpreted.

Perhaps 'Dis-allow the following member groups from attaching files' would have clarified it better for a thicko like me.

regards, smiler  :)
Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #41 on: March 12, 2003, 02:42:45 AM »
Reply with quote

Ummm.... no, you were right.

However, if it is empty it allows anyone.

-[Unknown]
Logged
smiler
Noobie
*
Posts: 13


I'm a llama!


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #42 on: March 19, 2003, 02:20:43 PM »
Reply with quote

I'm still in the process of developing my free lycos website. I've been trying to use the SSI.php file to get my homepage to display the forum 'welcome - login or register'. Using the SSI file outside of the forum folder has a number of problems. (yabbse 1.5.1B44)

My homepage is of course in the root directory and is the default page for the website - this is why the yabbse forum is in a sub-directory, to prevent conflict with yabbse/index.php becoming the default page.

Following the instructions supplied with ssi_examples.php I get the following error:

Fatal error:call to undefined function clicklog() in SSI.php on line 59

Clicklog() is the first function call in SSI.php so if you get this error it indicates a problem with SSI locating the appropriate code for the function definition. The problem is associated with all of the 'include_once' code instructions in SSI.php at:

line 49 include_once($full_yabbse_path .'/Settings.php')

line 54 include_once($sourcedir . '/Errors.php')

line 55 include_once($sourcedir . '/Subs.php')

line 56 include_once($sourcedir . '/Load.php')

line 87 include_once($language)

line 92 include_once($language)

The only way I could get SSI to work with my homepage sitting above the yabbse forum directory was as follows:

1.Make a copy of SSI.php and store it in my root directory (same as my homepage).

2. Hard code the actual forum path into the above lines in SSI.php, as opposed to using the predefined variables ,
 e.g.
line 49 include_once('./yabbse/Settings.php')

line 54 include_once('./yabbse/Sources/Errors.php')

line 87 include_once('yabbse/english.lng')

The first line of the homepage remains as per the example in ssi_example.php.

Of course, SSI works OK without any changes if my homepage sits in the same directory as yabbse. But as I said, this causes a conflict with making my homepage the default.

I hope this info helps anybody else who has been struggling with this.

regards, smiler  :)


 
« Last Edit: March 20, 2003, 05:04:44 PM by smiler » Logged
n00b
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 92


*Drolling*


Re:Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk
« Reply #43 on: April 05, 2003, 12:53:19 PM »
Reply with quote

this link dont work :( so :)

edit index.php , search for

Code: [Select]
$dbcon = mysql_connect($db_server, $db_user, $db_passwd);
mysql_select_db($db_name);

replace with


Code: [Select]
$tempxyz = 0;
$dbcon = false;
while (tempxyz < 5 and !$dbcon) {
$dbcon = mysql_connect($db_server, $db_user, $db_passwd);
$tempxyz++;
}
mysql_select_db($db_name);

edit subs.php
search for

Code: [Select]
function redirectexit (){
   global $yySetLocation;
   header("Location: ".str_replace(" ","%20",$yySetLocation));
   obExit();
}

replace with

Code: [Select]
function redirectexit (){
   global $yySetLocation;
   print <<<eot
<html>
<head>
<script language="JavaScript">
<!-- Begin
location.href="$yySetLocation"
//  End -->
</script>
</head>
<title>Redirector</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body>
<center>
  <br>
  <br>
  <br>
  Redirecting to $yySetLocation<br>
  Please click <a href="$yySetLocation">here</a> if not redirected.<br>
</center>
</body>
</html>
eot;
   obExit();
}

search for

Code: [Select]
//$yySetLocation = "$cgi;action=display;threadid=$thread";
   //redirectexit();

replace with

Code: [Select]
$yySetLocation = "$cgi;action=display;threadid=$thread";
   redirectexit();

all right reserved to CandyMann_69 ;D
« Last Edit: April 05, 2003, 12:54:01 PM by n00b » Logged
Tapferes Schneiderlein
Noobie
*
Posts: 9



Link broken again?
« Reply #44 on: April 06, 2003, 09:20:56 AM »
Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm trying to get YaBB SE 1.5 running on the free lycos webspace.

Evereything works fine but I have the redirection problem, too.

Can someone post a working link to the mod, please?

Thank you

PS: Does anyone know if V 1.5.1 helps?
« Last Edit: April 06, 2003, 03:31:40 PM by Tapferes Schneiderlein » Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 Reply Ignore Print 
YaBB SE Community  |  English User Help  |  English Help  |  Topic: Fix to problems with Free hosting on lycos.co.uk « previous next »
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP YaBB SE Community | Powered by YaBB SE
2001-2003, YaBB SE Dev Team. All Rights Reserved.
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.211 seconds with 19 queries.