Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
December 10, 2019, 08:47:27 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: SMF is the next generation in forum software, almost completely re-written from the ground up, make sure you don't fall for cheap imitations that suffer from feature bloat!

YaBB SE Community  |  Development  |  Converters  |  Topic: [beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7 Reply Ignore Print
Author Topic: [beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter  (Read 40620 times)
Compuart
Quality, Quality, Quality!
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 1283



WWW
[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« on: February 03, 2003, 08:29:02 AM »
Reply with quote

This converter can also be found in the converter development board, but as I'm not sure everyone is checking that (relatively new) board, I'll also post it here.

I've recoded the current Y1G->yse1.3.x converter and adjusted it for YaBB SE 1.5.1

The converter can be downloaded from this location. Remember that the converter is still in beta, but it'll never harm your original Y1G files.

New features:
  • now converts from SP1.2 and below (nothing new in the latest SP, but still... ;D)
  • converts to YaBB SE 1.5.1 only(!) Won't work on lower versions of YaBB SE!
  • Fixed sticky topics (didn't convert correctly before)
  • Added conversion for log_topics, log_boards, log_mark_read boards, so that the new-indicator will still work correctly after converting
  • Increased speed radically (66% reduction of time taken to convert messages). This will come in handy for the larger boards that are converted with safe mode turned on
This convertor can be download from SourceForge here.
https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=57105&release_id=160671
« Last Edit: May 20, 2003, 06:20:05 PM by David » Logged

Fizzy
Full Member
***
Posts: 214



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2003, 08:12:13 AM »
Reply with quote

I ran this one to try to go from Gold SP1.1 (with a whole host of mods in place).

The initial setup went well until it started converting censor list -

Gave me this error
Quote
2: Compilation failed: nothing to repeat at offset 2 <br />(/home/s/k/*******/public_html/yabbse/Sources/Load.php ln 121)
I cured this by simply deleting the censor content.

However, the biggest problem was the topics and threads. They refused to come across with an error message saying the it couldn't locate the ID_Member.

As the bulk of the data is already imported is there a straight forward way of importing the topics and threads in ?
Logged
Compuart
Quality, Quality, Quality!
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 1283



WWW
Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2003, 08:27:06 AM »
Reply with quote

However, the biggest problem was the topics and threads. They refused to come across with an error message saying the it couldn't locate the ID_Member.
can you give the exact error message so that I can try to fix it.

Quote
As the bulk of the data is already imported is there a straight forward way of importing the topics and threads in ?
I'm affraid not. If your conversion goes wrong after all messages have been converted you might get some results by using the 'repair board' function from the admin panel.
Logged

Søren Bjerg
Noobie
*
Posts: 17


\o/


WWW
Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2003, 10:35:28 AM »
Reply with quote

Worked nicely on the local YaBB Gold SP 1.1 installation
I had... didn't get any warnings as far as I remember :).
Logged
Fizzy
Full Member
***
Posts: 214



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2003, 02:25:39 PM »
Reply with quote

Hi guys,

here's a sample of the error messages

Quote
Importing 'mark as read' data
Inserting 'mark as read' data
inserting row 1 to 47
Error: MySQL said:

Unknown column 'ID_MEMBER' in 'field list'

on executing the this query:

REPLACE INTO yabbse_log_mark_read (ID_MEMBER, ID_BOARD, logTime) VALUES (1, 7, 1032716796),(

Quote
Importing Board Logs
Inserting Board Logs
inserting row 1 to 500
Error: MySQL said:

Unknown column 'ID_MEMBER' in 'field list'

on executing the this query:

REPLACE INTO yabbse_log_boards (ID_MEMBER, ID_BOARD, logTime) VALUES (1, 11, 1032716720),(

Quote
Inserting Topics
inserting row 1 to 100
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 101 to 200
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 201 to 300
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 301 to 400
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 401 to 500
Error: MySQL said:

Unknown column 'Hello' in 'field list'

on executing the this query:

REPLACE INTO yabbse_topics (ID_BOARD, numViews, locked, notifies, isSticky, TEMP_ID_TOPIC) VALUES ('5','22', '0', '', 0, 1030650980),
Quote
Importing Topic Logs
Inserting Topic Logs
inserting row 1 to 500
Error: MySQL said:

Unknown column 'ID_MEMBER' in 'field list'

on executing the this query:

REPLACE INTO yabbse_log_topics (ID_MEMBER, ID_TOPIC, logTime) VALUES (1, 260, 1031419068),(


Any ideas ?
Logged
[Unknown]
Global Moderator
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 7830



WWW
Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2003, 06:51:26 PM »
Reply with quote

You are trying to install this into a 1.5.0 install.

As the instructions state, it only works with 1.5.1.

-[Unknown]
Logged
Fizzy
Full Member
***
Posts: 214



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2003, 05:32:07 AM »
Reply with quote

[size=10]Doh ![/size]

Now I know how Homer feels  :'(

Sorry for wasting your time everybody.
I assumed that the top set of downloads on the download page was for 1.5.1 and blindly went ahead and made an arse of myself  :-\

Nothing new there then.

Thanks for the help, I'm off to try again ..... this time with 1.5.1

 ;D
Logged
Fizzy
Full Member
***
Posts: 214



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2003, 06:28:59 AM »
Reply with quote

Well I tried it again and got a lot further ... but got this error message which stopped the messages from being converted

Quote
Importing Topics

Warning: file("/home/s/k/skincell/public_html/cgi-bin/yabb/Messages/Hello.data") - No such file or directory in /home/s/k/skincell/public_html/yabbse/converter.php on line 711

Inserting Topics
inserting row 1 to 100
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 101 to 200
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 201 to 300
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 301 to 400
Data inserted successfully!
inserting row 401 to 500
Error: MySQL said:

Unknown column 'Hello' in 'field list'

I checked my files and I do not have a "Hello.data" file in Messages directory  ???

It then seized up at
Quote
inserting row 9501 to 9969
Data inserted successfully!

Importing Messages

If you can help with this I'd be really grateful
« Last Edit: February 08, 2003, 06:35:07 AM by Fizzy » Logged
Compuart
Quality, Quality, Quality!
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 1283



WWW
Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2003, 06:43:36 AM »
Reply with quote

It looks like one of your board files (Boards/*.txt) has a line that starts with hello instead of a topicID. Going through these files and removing the line that starts with 'hello' should do the trick.
Logged

Fizzy
Full Member
***
Posts: 214



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2003, 10:32:12 AM »
Reply with quote

Genius !

Spot on - there it was at the bottom of one of the txt files.

Thanks for that Comp ;)

I ran it again, much more successfull, but for some reason the converter isn't taking all of the categories/boards/messages

It manages to complete the first category and boards ok, then it gets part way through the next category and then stops there.
No error messages or anything, it just stops.

Is there a limit to the number of boards or messages that can be converted? or should I think about changing the organisation of my SP1.1 to put all of the boards together under one category, convert and then re-arrange the boards into new categories ? ?
Logged
Compuart
Quality, Quality, Quality!
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 1283



WWW
Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2003, 10:44:17 AM »
Reply with quote

well, the converter assumes data integrity of the original Y1G files. As this doesn't always seem the case (a year ago I used to cut and paste a lot, in order to keep my Y1G board running...) there might be something wrong with the integrity.

Try to do the repair function from the Y1G admin panel (but make a backup first!) and convert the board afterwards. Also the repair board function of the YaBB SE board might help after the board has been converted.
Logged

Fizzy
Full Member
***
Posts: 214



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2003, 03:49:06 PM »
Reply with quote

Oh :(

I haven't got a repair function in Y1G SP1.1
and the repair function doesn't recove the problem in YabbSE, I tried.

So far I have managed to get as far as converting all of the Categories, boards, members etc but when it comes to the messages it seems to time out.
I did some reading around the community and I read about the converters timing out ? ? ?

It seems odd that my conversion doesn't throw up any errors, it just fizzles out.
My current Y1G board has over 17,000 posts, should I look to place both Y1G and SE in maintenance mode while running the converter ?
Logged
Juggernaut
Noobie
*
Posts: 14


www.A7VTroubleshooting.com


WWW
Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2003, 02:14:33 PM »
Reply with quote

Some hosts have time limits on how long procecces will run before they are auto-terminated.

In my case, setting up a local WAMP Server and converting locally seems to do the trick.
Logged
Daniel D.
Mod Team
YaBB God
*****
Posts: 2935



Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2003, 02:16:18 PM »
Reply with quote

www.apachefriends.org ;D
Logged

Craig
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 66


I'm a llama!


Re:[beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter
« Reply #14 on: February 14, 2003, 05:04:23 PM »
Reply with quote

this may or may not be helpful to anyone but it was to me...

on my old sp1 board I had a spammer so I changed the address in the censored word part to my site

http://www.SPAM.com = http://mysite.com

anyhow when you convert this it stops your board from working and you need to remove it.

Hope this helps someone  :)

P.S apart from that the script works like a charm (THANK YOU  :))
« Last Edit: February 14, 2003, 05:05:39 PM by Craig » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7 Reply Ignore Print 
YaBB SE Community  |  Development  |  Converters  |  Topic: [beta] YaBB 1 Gold SP 1.2 -> YaBB SE 1.5.1 converter « previous next »
 


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP YaBB SE Community | Powered by YaBB SE
© 2001-2003, YaBB SE Dev Team. All Rights Reserved.
SMF 2.0.15 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.119 seconds with 19 queries.