YaBB SE Community

English User Help => English Help => Topic started by: groundup on July 10, 2002, 09:21:23 PM

Title: Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on July 10, 2002, 09:21:23 PM
Because I like adding FAQ's on the fly and docs are just too much work I have decided to just post them here.  If the answer has been posted to a question I will post it here.  If you Q&A is unique and not posted, you can post it.  Please don't post whole conversations, just the question and the answer.  Follow my format.

(/data/members/free/tripod/nl/m/s/t/mstsbe/htdocs/yabbse/Sources/Register.php ln 185)[/b]
Go to your reserved names list and add anything you'd like just has to be something.

more to come :)
Title: Re:My personal Admin FAQ
Post by: Jeff Lewis on July 10, 2002, 09:54:33 PM
Very nice FAQ for admins!


This FAQ has been translated into foreign languages:

Deutsch / German (http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?thread=26268)



Edit: Foreign Language Translation links entered here, such that they are visible on the top, and because 1st post got to long
Title: Re:My personal Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on July 10, 2002, 10:12:31 PM
Most of this was initially sent to Alan Cramer but he left and Greg Robson is a very busy man so I decided to help out while I can.  Thank You Jeff.
Title: Re:My personal Admin FAQ
Post by: AnalogDuck on July 12, 2002, 10:18:48 PM
Alright! This is awesome!  ;D  I wish this was available when I was learning YaBBSE!

Now let's roll it into the distributed package for YaBBSE 1.4.1, so that all new admins will have it immediately available to them!  Make it a readme.html file, or something.
Title: Re:My personal Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on July 12, 2002, 11:03:28 PM
as I get more, it goes to the Documentation Project but like I said before it won't be available to the people when they need it.  If this gets stickied, it will be easier.

PS: Disclaimer - I take no responsibility for any mistakes that I or others have made.
Title: Re:My personal Admin FAQ
Post by: AnalogDuck on July 13, 2002, 12:53:08 AM
Sounds good to me!  Make it sticky and roll it into that next release!  ;D
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: andrea on July 15, 2002, 01:21:46 AM
Where are the credits?  ::)
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on July 15, 2002, 01:23:36 AM
not meant to be written by me "If the answer has been posted to a question I will post it here."

all I am doing is compiling it, writing comments, and sometimes writing some of my own q&a.

CREDITS:  All of the people that have been answering support questions for us dummies ;)
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: AnalogDuck on July 15, 2002, 05:09:28 PM
 ;D Awesome reply.  So graceful...  ;D

Credits to everyone at the YaBBSE Community!
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on August 05, 2002, 04:47:42 PM
I keep adding more but people just keep asking the same questions!  jeez
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: Jeff Lewis on August 06, 2002, 07:23:10 AM
hehe that will ALWAYS happen :)
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: iti on September 29, 2002, 06:04:25 AM
just joined and my english is poor but i found the faq
really easy to follow.
great work.
and i do have a questin:
how do i hide all information about who & no of guest and member online from public eye?

Thanks and forgive my english
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on September 29, 2002, 03:58:30 PM
glad it helped you.  as for your question, I ask that you don't ask questions in this thread.
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: groundup on October 06, 2002, 11:16:56 AM
I don't know if you noticed this but I just asked people not to post questions in this thread. Make a post and if it gets answered, I might add it.
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: shy hamster on November 10, 2002, 10:43:23 PM
I have just installed YaBB SE 1.4.1 and here are a couple of questions that I experienced and resolved:

In readme.html packaged with the installation pack, it says that one could check the config info by using phpinfo.php. But where do I find phpinfo.php?

Simply open up Notepad and paste these lines in and save as phpinfo.php. Upload and view file via browser

Quote

<?

phpinfo();

?>



I want to show the most recent posts (or Who's Online or Top Poster etc.) on the main page of my website. How do I do it?

SSI.php is included in YaBB SE 1.4.1. To use it, you have to use these commands on the main page of your website.

Quote

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=recentTopics';
?>

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=topPoster';
?>

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=whosOnline';
?>

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=welcome';
?>

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=menubar';
?>

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=logout';
?>

<?php
include 'http://www.yourservernamehere.com/SSI.php?function=login';
?>


Hope that helps.
Title: Re:Admin FAQ
Post by: Nesseight on January 18, 2003, 12:40:22 PM
You should alter the FAQ to read...




  • What do I do if I banned myself?
    Quit messing around with admin commands and rent "YaBB for Dummies"



Seriously, I could see an admin banning an admin, but I can't imagine how an admin could ever ban himself unless he just "has to try it."
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: groundup on April 09, 2003, 02:41:55 PM
crap, I just had about 10 more FAQ's to add and I didn't try to copy it. Then it said I was over the limit. So.. I will try to rewrite them now.

I wish I could post all of the FAQ's in a row or something.. hmm..
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: Derek on April 17, 2003, 11:55:12 PM
I was reading your FAQ, and saw the question about Apach2. I'm currently running a web server on my home computer: "Apache/2.0.45 (Unix) PHP/4.3.1 Server at ***.***.***.*** Port 80" and it works quite nicely.
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: groundup on April 18, 2003, 12:40:13 PM
Thank you, although it hasn't been officially tested and PHP still has problems with Apache 2.
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: splungent on April 27, 2003, 09:27:42 PM
Hello,
         Is there a faq on backing up the database for yabb se?  I did a few searches and came up empty.
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: splungent on April 27, 2003, 10:47:04 PM
Hello,
         Is there a faq on backing up the database for yabb se?  I did a few searches and came up empty.


Found it........here:
http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?board=135;action=display;threadid=20643;start=0 (http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?board=135;action=display;threadid=20643;start=0)
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: mdemarco on August 18, 2003, 05:10:36 PM
I am having a problem finding a solution to spamers on my message board. One in particular won't stop. As soon as I delete the username and spam messages the spammer comes back and does it again. What should I do?

Regards,

Michael
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: [Unknown] on August 18, 2003, 05:23:38 PM
I am having a problem finding a solution to spamers on my message board. One in particular won't stop. As soon as I delete the username and spam messages the spammer comes back and does it again. What should I do?

Regards,

Michael

Ban them.  Ban their email, ban their username, ban their IP.

-[Unknown]
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: mdemarco on August 19, 2003, 04:29:13 PM
The problem is that they will create another free email account. What do you do in that case?

Regards,

Michael
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: Douglas on August 19, 2003, 05:11:51 PM
Ban the whole ISP, file a formal complaint, provide logs to the ISP.
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: [Unknown] on August 19, 2003, 10:41:37 PM
The problem is that they will create another free email account. What do you do in that case?

Regards,

Michael

Trust me... annoying people get TIRED.  You'd think they wouldn't, but just make it routine - it won't bother you, and it will annoy the crap out of them.

-[Unknown]
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: cvek on October 26, 2003, 03:08:32 PM
Hi!

what about calling these ssi commands into center block in PHPNUKE?

create a page where i have inserted those commands i need and save it as php file .. if i called directly on web it works great ... now what code should i use to display this in block .. or better said .. what code woudl you put into php file to call another php file?

thanx in advance
Title: Re:My personal Admin Faq
Post by: andrea on October 29, 2003, 09:38:31 PM
Very nice FAQ for admins!


This FAQ has been translated into foreign languages:

Deutsch / German (http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?thread=26268)



Edit: Foreign Language Translation links entered here, such that they are visible on the top, and because 1st post got to long

J_Peterson translated this FAQ into german, I added the link into the 1st reply because the lead post got to long. Case other tranlations exist tell me and I will add also the link there.
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: BrandonMiller on January 02, 2004, 04:33:40 PM
that link to a backup faq said I didn't have permission or whatever. Honestly mysql is new to me and the words dump database just don't sound good! :o

Is that the button I hit? Yea, I am skeeeeered! I haven't backed it up since day one and I got a lot to lose..
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: andrea on January 02, 2004, 10:45:38 PM
that link to a backup faq said I didn't have permission or whatever. Honestly mysql is new to me and the words dump database just don't sound good! :o

Is that the button I hit? Yea, I am skeeeeered! I haven't backed it up since day one and I got a lot to lose..

Which link did not work? I checked this one and everything worked fine for me:
http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?thread=15902 (http://www.yabbse.org/community/index.php?thread=15902)

If you really haven't backed up yet then it is indeed important you learn to do so.
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: Hort on March 13, 2004, 01:21:34 PM
Hi

When I try to change the database username and PW the settings page returns the next time with the old settings.

Do I have to edit settings manually?

Thanks

Hort
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: [Unknown] on March 13, 2004, 03:10:48 PM
Make sure Settings.php is 777.

-[Unknown]
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: Hort on March 13, 2004, 03:24:20 PM
Hi,

hmmm... CHMOD is 755, else the board won't run at all.

I can change practically everything else, and that's written to settings.php - just not another username and PW for the database.

Would it suffice to reset the CHMOD value for the settings.php alone? Or need I do the whole folder?

Thanks for your response btw  :)
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: Hort on March 13, 2004, 03:31:16 PM
I just tried, putting only settings.php on 777 doesn't work. BTW, what is that settings_bak.php? Will I need to change that too?
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: [Unknown] on March 13, 2004, 04:12:45 PM
It's a backup of Settings.php.  755 should be fine as well...

I don't see why those wouldn't change, but you can go in and manually change them.

-[Unknown]
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: cybertooth on March 18, 2004, 09:55:09 PM
when I try to browse on yabbpaks
I got this error

2: fopen(): php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known
(/home/filipino/public_html/filboard/Sources/PackageGet.php ln 140)


How do i fix this one help plss
Title: How do i install Mod?
Post by: cybertooth on March 20, 2004, 08:37:55 PM
How do i install mod?
I dont know how to use boardmod .
please help
Title: Smf, where is forum template?
Post by: victorti83plus on March 26, 2004, 03:28:01 PM
Hi,

Before upgrading to SMF, the old yabbse 1.5.4 can click into "Forum Template" link to change code of the forum template.

But in SMF, the link"Forum Template" is not there anymore, so how can I change the forum template? (I just want to add a Forum Banner at the top of the forum)

Please help ???
Title: Re:Admin Faq
Post by: Chris Cromer on March 26, 2004, 03:39:08 PM
Wrong place, go to http://www.simplemachines.org to ask questions about smf.

But anyway, you can edit them manually by going into the themes/default/index.template.php file.

Also if you go into the theme management in the admin center, you can edit the theme in there. Although it only let's you edit the additional theme's index file... it won't let you edit the default one's so you will have to modify the default one in the file I mentioned.